Skip to content

Like Sands Through the Hourglass…

September 12, 2008

 They say time flies when you are having fun, but what is the excuse for the rest of the minutes and hours that appear to rush by us in a blur?

As a school teacher, I am blessed with summers “off” from teaching. I decided this summer to make a firm commitment to my jewelry and lampwork business. I can’t tell you how wonderful it was to be able to wake up at a reasonable hour, and be creative as the muse motivated me.

Well, reality has hit like a solid brick wall! Back in school, I am finding it harder and harder to find the time I was spoiled enough to have over the summer in which to make both jewelry and beads. Not only am I struggling with finding the time to fashion new items, it’s extremely hard to focus your creativity when you are exhausted from working all day! Am I whining? YES!!

I am afraid I need to embrace that dirty word: discipline! I need to be structured and commit time to my business, and use it wisely. As many artists will tell you, structure is not their friend. Nothing kills creativity faster than the feeling that you are being “forced” to create!

Here is what I plan on trying; hopefully it may help some people in similar situations!

Writing my own “schedule.” I will be sitting down and actually writing down the times I need to report to “work” for my business.

Structure myself a nice bonus/benefits package. Who says productivity can’t be rewarded with some extra treats?

Allow myself to take more time off! It may seem counter-intuitive when I am complaining that I no longer have enough time. However, the reality is that I need to work more efficiently with the time I do have, while also resting enough that I don’t get burned out.

While structure is not something I crave when I create, I am hoping that it will help me to focus and be more productive. If I am more productive, I am certain that I will not feel the time crunch as oppressive as I do right now. And, if I am more productive, my business will be more profitable, increasing the likelihood that some day I can make it a full-time endeavor. Right now, I just need to make each moment of time count!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mallory permalink
    September 12, 2008 1:21 am

    You go, girl! I’m proud of you!

Leave a Reply

