Skip to content

The Art of Balance

December 3, 2008
tags: ,

Some artists are able to capture perfectly symmetrical moments, dazzling us with their ability to create order and beauty at the same time. Sadly, I am not one of those artists!

My life tends to swing like a pendulum: I work as a teacher, so fall through spring I am in overdrive, while summer finds me happily contemplating nature in a zen state. When I find joy, I feel its electric pulse through every fiber of my being; when I find sadness, it causes anguish that envelopes my heart. Even my beads are a victim to my love of entropy; I prefer the wild flow of organic shapes and designs, and only derive frustration and boredom from creating a perfect “dot” bead.

But I have come to respect and embrace the need for balance.

Balance between fun and work, family and friends, what I give to myself and what I give to others. This last part is, to me, the most important part of the balanced equation. I have always had a hard time saying no when asked a favor, always gone home from a day of teaching exhausted, because my students “needed me.” What throws me off balance the worst, is when I can’t find the time for my art and being creative.

I have learned that I need to take for myself in order to continue to give. It’s a hard idea for someone like me to wrap my head around, and yes, I feel awfully selfish when I have to say “no”.  Life is a constant juggling act, we know, but I need to find time to create, or I begin to wither. I go completely off balance.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mallory permalink
    December 3, 2008 10:43 pm

    Balance is so important for anyone, but, especially when you teach. Take the time you need for yourself. Leave work a little early to torch. The kids will be there the next day. They really will. Go home. Light up that torch and, even if you only torch for 15 minutes, you will have made time for yourself.

  2. January 2, 2009 1:44 am

    How very true!

Leave a Reply

