Skip to content

Yes, you can have your Art and be practical, too!

January 4, 2009
The current economy has gotten me to thinking a lot about the idea that art can be functional. I have always been interested in finding ways to incorporate my lampwork into everyday objects. I decided to search my favorite new online venue, 1000 Markets, to see how other artists create pieces that are functional, but truly works of art at the same time. I have chosen a few to share with you; each is something that you most likely use already, but is a piece of art in it’s own right!
 

Purses can be a great way to make an artistic statement without breaking the bank. estudiomartita offers a number of functional pieces in her bold, urban Latino style, but her Heart and Soul Frida Calavera Purse is beyond cool. A recycled handbag features a handpainted panel, making this purse a frame for an original piece of art. 

 In case one purse isn’t enough (and let’s face it ladies, it isn’t!), roobiesoup also offers unique purses, this time made from recycled cigar boxes. I honestly had a hard time selecting which of her purses is my favorite! Since I am a purple fiend, her Purple Moon Cigar Box purse called to me immediately. It features her own original artwork, and is limited to a run of 25.   

Once you have your piece-of-art handbag, let’s turn our attention to the head. delightworthyncreates the most beautiful and stylish hats and headwraps I have seen in a long time. The one that immediately caught my eye was her Felted Flower Headwrap. The colorful felted flowers are a perfect antidote for the winter chills as you don this headwrap to stay warm!

Moving on to art you need around the house, Bluesky Pottery has a number of items that you can use around your house. One of the most practical items, a wall clock is combined with a personal favorite, dragonflies. Her Dragonfly Wall Clock is a functional piece of art that adds to your decor.

Next is from taylorseclectic. When I first came across her shop, I thought her Red Rose Blooming Sculptural Vase was glass. Then, as I read her description, I was amazed to find that her work is paper art, constructed in amazing shapes. This vase is meant to be a room centerpiece and is the third in a series, signed and numbered by the artist.

What could be more functional than furniture? And what could be more wonderful than a piece of furniture that is also a piece of art? Mad Tea Party takes everyday furniture and turns them into extraordinary pieces of art through her painting. Elegant and whimsical at the same time, her Moody Blue Handpainted End Table immediately caught my eye. Her other work is just as amazing.

Need to give dad a present? Think he’s sick of the same boring old ties? Amysfunkyfibers uses her artistic talent to create one-of-a-kind ties and scarves. Her Handpainted Ginko Tie is stately and interesting–definitely not the same tired ties that the other men around the office will be wearing!

Finally, function can be artistic and fun. I came across the art of Mechelledesigns after seeing one of her pendants on the front page of 1000 Markets. Her bird prints are absolutely charming! I fell in love with her sleepy-eyed Bird Pillow, which features a bird-shape and the handpainted little bird.

Remember that you can support your artists, even while cutting back on the extras. Find fun ways to incorporate art into your life–the best art often doesn’t come in a frame!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirsten Roo Klaers permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:38 pm

    Thanks so much for including me in your blog. I love all the artists you chose. Since I am a BLOG neophyte I am just honored that you found my artwork worthy and that it caught your eye as well.

  2. January 4, 2009 8:55 pm

    YAY couldn’t have said it better!Thanks for including my felted flower headwrap with all these other amazing artists.

  3. January 5, 2009 1:52 am

    Great article, Rachel. Thanks for including my pottery in it!

  4. Mallory permalink
    January 5, 2009 2:47 am

    Wow! You found some great pieces at 1000Markets!

  5. January 18, 2009 5:02 am

    Great article enjoyed checking out each site and leaving comments.

  6. January 30, 2009 10:14 pm

    Hi! I just stumbled upon your blog and… there was my tie! Thank you, it is so nice to be included with other talented artists!
    Amy

Leave a Reply

