Skip to content

Giving Back in Hope of a Lupus Cure

March 8, 2009

Early last month, my uncle passed away from a Lupus-related condition that caused so much damage to his lungs, they ceased to be able to support life. He was stolen from us way to early, being only 54, and left behind not just my beautiful aunt, but 5 beautiful children.

Losing any loved one makes us feel powerless. There’s often nothing we can do to stop the loss. However, we can often, in our own small way, add to the effort to stop the tragedy from happening to others. My uncle, who lived in Pittsburgh, was treated by some of the best doctors, as The Lupus Center of Excellence is based out of Pittsburgh. The center not only works to improve the lives of those with Lupus, but also conducts research with the eventual hope of triumphing over this auto-immune condition.

Jerry Wayne Summers

Jerry Wayne Summers

This is why for the months of March & April, I will be donating 25% of my sales to The Foundation for the Lupus Center of Excellence. Any monies donated in my uncle’s name will be matched dollar for dollar by the foundation’s administrator. I do this in your memory, Jerry Summers, so hopefully, in the future, families will not have to have their loved ones stolen by Lupus.

My lampwork beads can be found on Etsy & Artfire, and my handcrafted lampwork jewelry is on 1000 Markets. Thank you for looking.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mallory permalink
    March 9, 2009 2:21 am

    Amy, I’m sorry for your loss! May he rest in peace.

  2. March 11, 2009 10:17 am

    Amy, I too, am sorry to hear about your Uncle. My thoughts are with you.
    Lupus is such a cruel disease – my Mum was diagnosed when she was 29.
    There was a paper presented about her at a conference in Seattle about 15 years ago. From what was discovered then (& how) I know they are getting closer to a cure, rather than just treating the problem.

  3. March 12, 2009 2:36 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss!

Leave a Reply

